Star Wars Essential Legends Collection: Books in Chronological Order

star wars was one of the first franchises to tell connected stories across multiple mediums: movies, TV shows, comics, novels, cartoons, video games, and even toys. Die-hard fans love to explore all aspects of the expanded universe and become experts in the most intricate areas. Star Wars Details. When Disney announced in 2012 that only a portion of the franchise would remain “canon” and the rest would become “legends,” fans were sad to see some of their favorite characters and story arcs cut.

Luckily, the writers have been constantly developing new stories that fit into the expanded universe. Many of these new stories draw on material from the legends (such as the reinstatement of Grand Admiral Thrawn). Read books in the Collection of essential legends can both provide context for the future of the galaxy and take readers on a fun adventure. Here are books from Collection of essential legends in chronological order, and why we think they remain “essential”.

Darth Bane Series

Darth Bane is the Sith Lord who instituted the rule of two (or the rule that there can only be two Sith at a time). When the Darth Bane books begins, Bane is a member of the Sith army waging a war against the Republic and the Jedi. Bane’s cruelty slowly draws the attention of his superiors, but Bane has his own plans for the future of the Sith. Even though this book is no longer canon, it still serves as a guide to much of what we understand about the Sith. Bane’s Rule of Two has lasting consequences that impact the galaxy for centuries after his life.

Related: Star Wars Books: The Canonical Must-Read Titles In Chronological Order

Darth Plagueis

Darth Plagueis is known as one of the most powerful Sith Lords to ever exist, largely due to his unsatisfying lust for power. He even learned the secret of immortality. However, as Plagueis’ apprentice Darth Sidious rises in political power, the time for the two to face off draws near. the Darth Plagueis book acts as the perfect backdrop and sets the stage for the entire Skywalker saga. Watching one of the most common Sith Lords develop his plans for the future provides context for all the conflict to come.

Darth Maul Shadow Hunter

Darth Maul: Shadowhunter gives readers a space to meet a fan favorite star wars villain before he became known as the Phantom Menace in star wars episode one. Palpatine suspects a traitor and sends Maul to solve the problem. Lorn Pavan, an information dealer, receives the secrets the traitor risked his life for, and Lorn becomes Maul’s next target. Lorn teams up with Jedi padawan Darsha Assant to escape the seasoned Sith Lord. Readers love this book for its fast-paced action and intriguing new characters. Although some readers complained that there was too much Lorn and not enough Darth Maul in this book, we like seeing the old character from a new character’s perspective.

Breaking point

Breaking point focuses on Mace Windu’s life in between Star Wars: Attack of the Clones and Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith. Jedi Master Yoda and Chancellor Palpatine entrust Windu with a perilous mission to investigate the Separatists on Windu’s home planet, Haruun Kal.

According to The Force, this is one of the darkest Star Wars novels, as it goes into great detail about all the parodies that take place during the Clone Wars. This book belongs to Essential Captions collection for the way it showcases Mace Windu. The novel fits perfectly with what we already know about her character in the movies, but it adds more depth and reasoning behind her acting. It showcases Windu’s unique talent for finding “breaking points” or weaknesses in his enemies. Although Windu can act thorny around the edges (especially in the understated Revenge of the Sith towards Anakin Skywalker), the novel highlights his powers of observation and his unique understanding of the people around him.


This novel takes place shortly before the Kenobi series on Diseny+. As one of the most beloved Jedi in star wars, it’s no surprise that Obi-Wan Kenobi has his own spin-off book in the Expanded Universe (EU). This book shows Obi-Wan’s early days in exile on Tatooine. After setting up a home on the outskirts of the desert, Obi-Wan finds himself embroiled in a planetary conflict involving the Tusken Raiders, a money-hungry local, and even a krayt dragon. For someone trying to keep a low profile, he gets into trouble pretty quickly. We like it Kenobi book because of the insight it brings to both Obi-Wan’s exile and the upbringing of Luke Skywalker.

Related: Star Wars: Is Grogu the New One?

soldiers of death

soldiers of death attempts to bring more horror elements into the franchise. After the events of Star Wars: A New Hope and before the events of Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back, a barge carrying Han and Chewie breaks down in the far reaches of space. A team is sent for parts but returns with a deadly virus. The virus affects almost everyone on board, first killing them and then bringing them back to life as hungry monsters. Some readers loved seeing star wars incorporate more horror elements and create a terrifying ride. Others complain that the zombies only make it halfway through the book and the story is overall unexciting. Yet he remains in the Essential Collection due to his attempt to experiment with other genres.

X-Wing Series

After the events of Star Wars Return of the Jedi, Wedge Antilles forms an elite new group of X-Wing fighters to undertake the galaxy’s most dangerous missions in the X-wing series. We love getting to know Wedge, Luke Skywalker’s childhood friend, better in this book. Readers of this series enjoy the same fast-paced action as in any other star wars story without the Jedi might or their force powers. It’s fun to see the important contributions that other character types can make to the diversity of the galaxy.

Trilogy launched

Five years after the events of Return of the Jedi, Luke Skywalker faces a new, more dangerous threat to the galaxy. Grand Admiral Thrawn was known as the Emperor’s smartest student, but now that intelligence is unleashed in force against Luke Skywalker, Leia Organa Solo and their family in the thrown trilogy. Thrawn is just too cool a villain to overlook. His combat scheme and persuasion tactics make him a worthy opponent to the Jedi. This series also features other characters like Mara Jade (a powerful Jedi and Luke Skywalker’s love interest) who are well known in the EU and appear regularly in other star wars Legends novels.

George Lucas on set with Chewbacca actor Peter Mayhew and Harrison Ford and Mark Hamill in storm trooper costumes

Star Wars History: How the Iconic Movie Was Made (And Almost Wasn’t)

Read more

About the Author

About Karren Campbell

Check Also

Del Valle ISD Book Bus is bringing free books to families this summer

DEL VALLE, Texas – The Del Valle ISD Book Bus is back to bring books …